PSYCHOLOGY IN FOREN...

Notifications
Clear all

PSYCHOLOGY IN FORENSICS: FORM CLINIC TO COURT

5 Posts
4 Users
2 Reactions
Topic starter

Forensic psychology: A branch of psychology which relates to the law.

Well I have no personal experience in this, but the topic itself excites me. Forensic psychology is slightly different from Criminal psychology.

While criminal psychology focuses on criminal behavior, forensic psychology includes criminal and civil law, work in prisons, at-risk youth counseling, and academic research, forensic psychology requires the assessment of a wide array of people, including victims of crime, witnesses, attorneys, and law enforcement. 

The main part of forensic psychology is working with the criminal justice system.

A broad definition for forensic psychology includes two parts. The first part is to research human behavior that is and/or can be related to the legal process. The second is the use of psychological practice to consult on and within the legal system, including both criminal and civil law. 

The public part of a forensic psychologist’s time is spent in a courtroom working as a witness for the court. He or she answers questions based on interviews and discussions with people suspected of a crime. One aspect of the forensic psychologist is to give evidence as to the suspect’s ability to stand trial. Another is his or her thoughts about the accused's state of mind at the time of the offense. At sentencing, a forensic psychologist may give evidence of mitigating circumstances arising from the accused's condition at the time.

A FP has many roles. Some of them are: