From knowing nothin...

Notifications
Clear all

From knowing nothing to loving psychology to bits

27 Posts
24 Users
0 Reactions
Topic starter

Hello people! My journey with psychology has been a little different. 

Most people study psychology in their high school and develop interest and later, decide on pursuing it as their career, which is not my case. I had literally 0 knowledge about psychology as a subject.

Flashback to my HSC examinations, I passed with distinction and was quite satisfied with my grades. I visited a career counsellor, as I was very confused which field to choose next. My maths was very weak and he suggested I take up something in Arts. I went through a few options and somehow, stumbled upon, and remained persistent on choosing psychology. And it was the best decision I made for myself! 

I cannot envision myself in any  field not related to psychology! In my initial two years of graduation, I was not very proactive as I am now. Now that I'm in my final year, I've realised the importance of my career and my love for it, and am working proactively as much as I can, exploring psychology to the depth, learning skills and gaining knowledge as well as experience. 

People have talked behind my back, saying Arts is taken by the students least interested in studies or that the career I chose has no scope and relevance, and all sorts of things. 

For me, psychology has been so growth enhancing, I've learned the importance of mental health, how society functions and most importantly, the need for psychology! 

I'm very ambitious and am working hard to achieve my dreams, to shut people down and make my parents chin up with pride! Do not listen to what people have to say, just follow your passion, go with your gut, work hard and you shall definitely succeed !! 

Divya Chopade December 13, 2020 3:10 pm

Hello,