Notifications
Clear all

PSYCHOLOGY - As a Field of Academics and Career

21 Posts
21 Users
0 Reactions
Topic starter

ABOUT ME

I am a MA Psychology student from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi. I have been studying Psychology since 11th and have a keen interest in Psychological research, Psychopathology and Neuropsychology. I have worked on 4 research papers so far along with college professors. 

WHAT TO EXPECT IN THE FIELD OF PSYCHOLOGY IN INDIA

Many of us enter the field with immense dreams and aspirations but we learn many things the hard way, just like many things in life. However, I am going to share a few things that I have learnt, hopefully it might help people who have recently joined the field.

1. Psychology involves a lot of biology and satistics. Human behaviour is not just about environment, it involves genetics, structure of the brain, neurotransmitters and a lot of biology! Some lose interest right here but even knowing the biological bases of behvaiour is as interesting.

2. It is difficult to find internships. Many of them are paid and waste of time so make sure what an internship has to offer before you pay a hefty amount for it. You may feel that whatever you are learning is extremely academic related and it is true, psychology is a practical field but due to limited number of internship opportunities and lack of practical knowledge, many people feel lost. You must be thinking what we can do to overcome this? I got you! So since people are not experienced enough, just like surgeons, we cannot deal with patients directly as it may cause more harm. Learn about the skills that you need this field like- empathy, taking case studies and histories etc. and work on those, keep yourself update on developments in the field.