Notifications
Clear all

Expressing and listening

24 Posts
25 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hello everyone! 

I am Karisma Sadhnani, I am in my final semester of completing my bachelor in applied psychology, and the most current topic that is around me is choosing a college for my masters and a specialization. 

Well that not what I am about talk about here, I wanted to share two terms that in my life I have learned are the most important skills that one should develop. 

The first is expressing, I have learned that it is so important that you learn to voice your thoughts, it's doesn't necessarily means to speak out, you could use music, art, dance anything, any form of being able to express yourself. It's also always doesn't have to be expressed to someone, sometimes just talking to yourself as in letting yourself know what you are feeling and what's happening around you is so important. The less we express the more we repress and one day when  you have had enough of repressing either the outcome will hurt others other you or you will end up hurting yourself. Thus I believe learn to express yourself from a young age is very necessary skill. 

The second skill is to learn to listen, not only as psychology but as humans, and not only about someone problem but just to whatever the other person wants to speak about. When we listen not only so we learn about the other, we get a better understanding of what they want and mean. Half of the problems, misunderstanding will get sorted if only people would learn to listen to what being said rather what they want to hear. 

From an early age my parents made sure that I learned to express myself, and I believe that is the best skill they have taught me, being able to express myself if not verbally then in my writings has helped me grow as an individual and always be aware of myself. These two skills are also one that helped me pick psychology as my field of career.