Notifications
Clear all

Be You!!!

23 Posts
24 Users
0 Reactions
Topic starter

BE YOU!! this is something that we come across a lot of time. We have had movies that try to deliver this message or we must have read certain books sometime that also portray this message. But when it comes to real life do we real understand what it means to stay true to ourselves? I feel a lot of us somewhere fail to understand the fact that when we decide to stay true to ourselves there is a lot at stake. 

In psychology this concept is very beautifully explained in terms of Individuality. I believe each person has their own individuality and that is what makes them unique and different from others. Earlier I had no idea that such a thing existed because I personally feel that we from a very young age are conditioned to follow others and listen to others especially our elders. In such a scenario we fail to have the necessary decision making skills. 

When I started learning psychology I understood what it means to be yourself and how important it is for your growth as a better human being. Initially I faced a lot of backlash from people including my parents and close friends because there were certain times and for certain things that I refused to change my decision. Though people were against me, when I did things because I wanted to do it I felt a great level of satisfaction and happiness. I feel this is somethings that is very important, unless you yourself are not happy, you can not keep the people around you happy and for that to happen you must be at peace with the internal conflicts you face. 

It took me a while to fully accept the fact that it is okay if you are different from your parents or your close friends, if you have different opinions from them etc., what matters is to accept yourself the way you are and also to realize that sometimes change is good.

Today I can confidently say that I am blessed to have few people in my life who accept me the way i am.